Media.Net

Advertisement

Friday, March 22, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/22/19


Downtown Newark's Kislak Building is being converted into apartments and stores by a developer from Louisiana.

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/21/19


Many Essex County streets, such as this suburban one in Upper Montclair, overlook the Midtown Manhattan skyline.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/20/19


The suburban Presidential Heights neighborhood, also known as Presidential Estates, is home to some of the largest houses in East Orange.

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/19/19


The old Westinghouse site by the Watsessing Avenue Station in Bloomfield has been the site of an environmental cleanup, but could possibly be redeveloped in the years ahead.

Monday, March 18, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/18/19


This East Orange building is home to both the Jersey Explorer Children's Museum and the Franklin Branch of the East Orange Public Library.

Sunday, March 17, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/17/19


The West Caldwell Community Garden will likely look far different in the coming weeks.

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/16/19


This photo shows the Post Office in Essex Fells, the smallest municipality in Essex County.

Friday, March 15, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/15/19


This photo shows traffic on Route 21 passing by the old Seton Leather complex in Newark's North Ward.

Thursday, March 14, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/14/19


This photo shows the New Jersey Transit Morris & Essex train tracks in South Orange.

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/13/19


Now a church, this building on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard in Newark once contained the local YM-YWHA (Young Men's and Young Women's Hebrew Association).

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/12/19


The La Vid Verdadera at the New Ark Cathedral, originally known as the Clinton Avenue Reformed Church, towers over Lincoln Park in Newark's Central Ward.

Monday, March 11, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/11/19


After sitting empty for decades, the old Murphy Varnish complex in Newark's Ironbound neighborhood has been converted into lofts.

Sunday, March 10, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/10/19


This photo shows the Watsessing Avenue Station on New Jersey Transit's Montclair-Boonton Line in Bloomfield.

Saturday, March 9, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/9/19


Home to studios used by local artists, Manufacturers Village in East Orange is among the most unique communities of its kind in Essex County. The complex was once home to a predecessor of Johnson & Johnson.

Friday, March 8, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/8/19


Ivy Hill Park in Newark's West Ward is situated alongside the campus of Seton Hall University.

Thursday, March 7, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/7/19


This photo shows Broughton Avenue in Bloomfield at sunset.

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/6/19


Massive pre-war apartment buildings like this one on Prospect Street can still be found throughout East Orange.

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/5/19


This photo shows South Orange Avenue at the border of the Township of South Orange Village and the City of Newark.

Monday, March 4, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/4/19


Although the medical center itself is long gone, these gates remain standing outside the site of the Newark City Hospital's Convalescent Branch on Irvington Avenue in the West Ward. Located in the shadow of the Ivy Hill Park Apartments, the privately owned property remains wooded and vacant.

Sunday, March 3, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/3/19


Like most outer suburban Essex County communities, Essex Fells has a volunteer fire department.

Saturday, March 2, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/2/19


A pattern of trees can be found at the entrance to Greenwood Gardens in Short Hills.

Friday, March 1, 2019

Photo of the Day 3/1/19



This photo shows the Essex County Courthouse along with Market Street in Newark.

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/28/19


This photo shows a view of Metlife Stadium, American Dream Meadowlands, and the old Roche campus in Nutley from Cedar Grove.

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/27/19


This photo shows the pond at Halycon Park in Bloomfield.

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/26/19


This brook runs through Watsessing Park in East Orange.

Monday, February 25, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/25/19


Tuxedo Park in South Orange is a neighborhood wedged between the Seton Hall University campus and the Newark border.

Sunday, February 24, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/24/19


The Williams-Harrison House in Roseland is passed by thousands of drivers on Eagle Rock Avenue daily.

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/23/19


This row of shops is located along Centre Street in Nutley.

Friday, February 22, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/22/19


The Jackson Street Bridge spans the Passaic River, connecting Newark's Ironbound neighborhood with Harrison in Hudson County.

Thursday, February 21, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/21/19


The Newark Housing Authority sold this previously wooded property across from City Hall to a developer. Now, construction is underway for a five-story building with apartments and an IHOP restaurant.

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/20/19


This photo shows Springdale Avenue in East Orange just before sunset. The First Watchung Mountain can be seen in the distance.

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/19/19


This house of worship on Prospect Street in East Orange was once home to Temple Sharey Tefilo but currently contains a church. The synagogue evolved into Temple Sharey Tefilo-Israel in South Orange.

Monday, February 18, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/18/19


Inactive red light cameras like this one in Newark's Central Ward continue to remain standing close to five years after New Jersey discontinued photo traffic enforcement.

Sunday, February 17, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/17/19


The Post Office in Short Hills is one of two in Millburn Township.

Saturday, February 16, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/16/19


Single-family homes make up much of the Vailsburg section of Newark's West Ward.

Friday, February 15, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/15/19


Fairfield's Great Piece Meadows are located alongside the Passaic River.

Thursday, February 14, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/14/19


This small dam in Grover Cleveland Park sits in Essex Fells by the Caldwell and West Caldwell borders.

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/13/19


While Newark's Amazon HQ2 plan might have been unsuccessful, the application revealed that this site at the corner of Broad and Orange Streets could become the site of a 200-unit building.

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/12/19


This photo shows a view of Lower Manhattan, Jersey City, and buildings along Broad Street in Newark as seen from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard.

Monday, February 11, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/11/19


This photo taken near Watsessing Avenue shows Bloomfield at sunset.

Sunday, February 10, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/10/19


Seton Hall University radio station WSOU-FM broadcasts from this tower in South Orange by the Newark city limits.

Saturday, February 9, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/9/19


This sign along the city limits in Vailsburg greets drivers entering Newark.

Friday, February 8, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/8/19


The Nettie Ochs Cider Mill was a Livingston institution for generations before closing close to a decade ago. Residential development is planned for the property near the West Orange border.

Thursday, February 7, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/7/19


Old Short Hills Park is situated alongside Greenwood Gardens in Millburn Township.

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/6/19


Construction is wrapping up on Newark's first "Shaq Tower."

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/5/19


Times Square and 30 Rockefeller Center can be seen at night from Montclair.

Monday, February 4, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/4/19


The Maplewood Jewish Center's Charles Kimmel Building is being rebuilt.

Sunday, February 3, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/3/19


The Essex County Airport in Fairfield, sometimes known as Caldwell Airport, sits alongside Passaic Avenue.

Saturday, February 2, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/2/19


This trestle crossing Pompton Avenue/Route 23 in Cedar Grove now carries the West Essex Trail, but was once used by a railroad.

Friday, February 1, 2019

Photo of the Day 2/1/19


Aston Heights is being developed where Brick Towers used to stand along Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard in Newark's Central Ward.